Moody Provisions

21 12 2013

I was fortunate enough to have Thursday off this week – and among the items on my list was to finally get over to Moody’s Delicatessen & Provisions. It is a beautiful space with amazing food that is produced all in house by New England Charcuterie. I wrote in an earlier post about them. Now I’ve been here and can tell you this – it is meat heaven !
I ordered a sandwich using what I call the “Chez Pascal method” – [derived from many experiences at Chez Pascal and being waited on by Roger – the consummate waiter – close your eyes and touch the menu – it’s a no lose situation]. I digress.

On the menu for hot sandwiches they all looked amazing. The sandwich that I wanted least was the Cuban. But unable to make a decision, I was left with the CPM. Sure enough it was the Cuban. Additionally I picked up a bag of their house made truffle chips.
I also bought a 1/4 pound of mole soppresatta. Made with mole, chocolate, ancho chili and GHOST peppers. It is delicious. Spicy but not lingering and not dangerous.
Ok -so I took my leave and started driving home. On the way I dipped I to the bag to see how the truffle chips tasted. They tasted like slivers of heaven, with truffle essence and salt. Somehow the entire bag disappeared before I got home ! Note to self – get more chips next time.
Got home took out the sandwich and thought – kinda small.
Then I took a bite and fell in love.
Not only was it delicious – each bite had layers of perfection – the size was right too.
After I was done – I literally walked around the house laughing. It was by far the best sandwich I had ever eaten !

I can’t say enough about the quality of the products of the that they offer.

I realize that they haven’t been open too long and are working out some kinks. They either need to embrace selling a solid selection of cheeses – perhaps only from Massachusetts’ cheese makers (or New England) or none at all. The selection of cheeses are haphazard at best. Likewise – a selection of 6 or 7 winning side salads/dishes for the case would round it out better than what is in the case now.
When I worked at the now-defunct Wickford Gourmet in RI, they had 140 cheeses, 25 kinds of meats, 16 types of olives in those great tall white crocks on the counter, and the salads. They had the visually and palate pleasing orange lentil salad; the pasta salads and interesting slaws, not to mention the tarragon chicken salad.
These so take time and effort – but I think more people will come often if they can purchase more of what they need at this one spot.

Twice in 3 days – I will go back again and again. It is my kind of place.

Please go and enjoy it too.

Address is 468 Moody Street in Waltham Massachusetts. Parking is on street or around back next to Tedeschi’s. Pricy but worth it.

20131221-135908.jpg

20131221-135922.jpg

20131221-140001.jpg

20131221-140107.jpg

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

