Grilled teriyaki salmon and Israeli cous cous salad

17 06 2009

Yesterday we decided that we needed to grill for dinner.  Both of us realized that with the impending “week of rain” that will start tomorrow, we needed to be outside as much as we could.  For me, that meant coming straight home after work, uncovering and starting up the grill, and cooking outside.    Dinner would be simple  –  grilled salmon and a cous cous salad.

The cous cous salad was adapted from Giada De Laurentiis “Israeli Couscous with Apples, Cranberries and Herbs” and was simple as could be.  I had watched one of her shows during one of the few half hour stretches of nothingness.  I was drawn to the salad for a few reasons – I’ve been putting Craisins on my salads lately, and I like the punch of sweet and tart that it adds; I’ve been meaning to try Israeli cous cous at home; and cooking with Granny Smith apples is just fun.

I cooked the cous cous according to the package, and while that was simmering, I went to the garden and picked some oregano and rosemary. Once washed and dried, I rough chopped the herbs and put them in a bowl.  Next I started toasting the slivered almonds, slowly as to not burn them (like last time !).

Next I put together the easy vinaigrette minus the maple syrup (had none in the house): olive oil, cider vinegar, salt and pepper.  Whisked it until emulsified, and put it aside.  Drained the cous cous and put it in the bowl.  Next, I diced the apple into large-ish sized chunks, and in they went.  A handful of Craisins went in next.  Finally, the almonds went in the bowl.  Tossed lightly and then drizzled the vinaigrette over.  A quick taste to make sure it was ok, and I’m serious when I tell you this – I wanted to take a big spoon and the bowl and hide in the closet so Karin couldn’t find me, and eat it all.

Self-restraint, however, took over, and I kept it so that Karin could have some as well.

Once this was done, I took the salmon that Karin had been marinating all day, and put it on the hot grill, searing one side, and then slowly cooking the other.   I would like to say that we made the marinade, but this is one of those days where we used Soy Vay.  Love the Soy Vay.  In this case, love the “Soy Vay Island Teriyaki.”   Three pieces of salmon hung out in it all day long waiting for me to come home and grill em up !

The stars were aligned and the salmon grilled up perfectly.  A couple of times I thought of “salmon candy” as some of the edges had caramelized nicely, were slightly crunchy, and a little sweet.  Reminded me briefly of salmon skin, my favorite when making sushi.

Back to dinner – the salmon and the salad went together nicely.    The sweet tart of the apples and the Craisins were a nice accompaniment to the moist salmon steaks.

Karin paired her dinner with a “Polka Dot” Riesling that we were given recently.  I washed mine down with a Sierra Nevada Summerfest – which worked nicely as well.

All in all, a big thumbs up, and we can’t wait to do it again.

Cheers

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

